Skip to main content
National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS)

National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS)

The National Disability Insurance Scheme is the new national way of providing individual support for people with disability, their families and carers.

It will provide eligible people with more flexible choice and control in how they receive the support they need.

We will be one of the first areas in Victoria to receive access to the NDIS. It will be available in the North East Melbourne Areas, which includes the City of Whittlesea, from 1 July 2016.

Who can access the NDIS?

To be eligible you must:

  • live in an area where the NDIS is available
  • meet the age and citizenship requirements
  • meet either the disability or early intervention requirements

How do I access the NDIS?

If you are currently receiving support from the State Government (such as an individual support package, attending facility-based respite or accessing early childhood intervention services) you will be contacted by the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA).

If you are not currently receiving disability support from the State Government, you can contact NDIA from 1 July 2016 to find out more.


Further information

Call the NDIA on 1800 800 110 between 8am and 5pm or visit the NDIS website.